CA law $126 limit (no receipts) for return deposit - help

9 Replies

I am new to renting in CA and my tenant is about to leave. I just wondered if anyone knows if the $126 limit for returning a deposit without receipts is per deducted item or in total.  If needed, I will do the work myself but cleaning, plus any repairs, plus washing carpets, plus trash removal (obviously only if any of this is needed) etc, can def work out around $100 per instance.

One other question is I didn't do an inspection all year but read I can't do one now until they leaves, (unless they request this) and I can't find anything about being allowed access to show the unit to new tenants, guess I have to wait until they are out.

*this is not legal advice. Always seek professional legal help*

Hey @Chris Newton , to my knowledge it's $126 total. However, it's always a good idea to send an itemized receipt regardless. 

You're correct. You're not entitled to an inspection in California, as a landlord. However, you could ask the tenant if it would be ok for you to check the unit out, so that you'll know what you'll have to do after they move out. Let the tenants know that they are not obligated to let you in, but that you would appreciate it. 

Unless otherwise stated in the lease, you are allowed to show the unit to potential renters/purchasers. You have to give the tenant at least 24 hours notice, and the tenant also has to agree to the time. You can't just give 24 hour notice and then barge into the house, if the requested time does not work for the tenant. 

Hope that helps

Civil Code Section 1950.5(b) specifies what can be deducted.

If the tenant waives the right to documentation receipts are not required.

No later than 21 days after regaining possession, the appropriate security deposit amount should be returned.