Tenants asking for a lot of items to be fixed

29 Replies

I am a newbie landlord with my first tenants who moved in last week.

Today I get an email asking for a list of items to be fixed (from ceiling fan to water heater to hinges on the door). They are asking if they can get it fixed and deduct it from the next months rent.

I know some of the appliances are not brand new but they are in a working condition. But bringing up a hinge on the electric panel is absurd.

How do I approach this request? There's no way I can fix all the items but want to show good faith in fixing some of them. But the tone in the email is concerning. 

Do these items work? I would let them know that as long as they are in working condition, there is no need to replace them. And if they are damaged by the tenant, hopefully your lease states that they are responsible for the cost to repair
(267) 520-0454

Hmmmmm...these sound like "professional" tenants to me.  The request to deduct repairs from the rent is always a red flag and a clue that they could be tight on money.  How well did they qualify for the property in terms of income/credit/job history/rent history?

Brian

Brian Karlow, Real Estate Agent in IL (#475.162077)

During the move-in inspection, the tenants should have agreed to the conditions of the property and voiced any concerns at that time. There should be a section on the move-in inspection that has "repairs needing to be done".

If you're not wanting to pay for the repairs (which may be worthwhile if they're good tenants), then you could:

A) Arrange something with them ie. they pay month on time for the year and you'll handle some repairs free of charge), B) Negotiate for them to cover half the costs of repairs

C) Explain the above to them that this should have been voiced prior to move-in and they had agreed that the living conditions were satisfactory for them. Discuss what repairs you are willing to allow if they cover the cost.