Toledo Lead Safe Ordinance Compliance

13 Replies

Has anyone had their property tested yet?  How much did it cost?  This is getting expensive to be a Landlord in the city of Toledo!  All because I couldn't sell my house for a fair price when I moved out of town.  SMH!

I would appreciate any input. 

@Renee F. I’vve had 2 of my own done in tier 2. I’m also a lead inspector and have done more than 200 inspections in Toledo. 

Thanks, Andrew!  My property is in south Toledo between Arlington and South Avenues.  I wish you much success in this lawsuit.  My tenants are older (in their 70s) and none of this pertains to them anyhow.

The Federal Court in Ohio already struck down a similar ordinance as unconstitutional.  (google it)  Unfortunately, these municipal registration and testing requirements are like cockroaches.  They keep popping up.   Some are very expensive.

It's just a means for the City of Toledo to make money because they manage their money so inefficiently.  I understand the concern about homes with children but to go so far as to charge the amount of money for the inspections, a "registration" fee and to have to re-do the inspections every 3 years is ridiculous!  Plus, I feel like my property management company has found a way to make money off of this as well. 

I'm so fed up with these companies.  If my tenant(s) need anything, they call me directly.  All that company does is manage the rent and pay the water bill.  It just makes me nervous to go without a management company because I am over 500 miles away.

It’s only every 3 years if the property fails a dust wipe. Otherwise, it’s every 6 years. 

What’s your management company? How many rentals do have?

I only have 1 rental property (the house I lived in for 26 years before I moved to NC).  My current PMC is Buckeye Northwest Realty. 

Even at every 6 years....if the house is maintained, there won't be problem.