Tenants with Service Animals and a no pet policy

22 Replies

Hello, 

Please forgive me if this is common knowledge. But I'm still learning and I want to stay compliant with a fair housing laws and regulations. I'm an investor in upstate NY I have a vacant unit and a friend sent me a referral for a prospective tenant. After speaking with this individual they seemed like a good fit from my initial phone screening (I still have to do a complete screening and background check) except he told me at the end of our conversation that he has a dog (Micro bully, pitbull mix). I do not want pets in my units as I've had bad experiences in the past and being a multi unit property I'm nervous about my other tenants. I told him I do not except pets. He then told me that this dog WILL be a service dog and he's working on getting all the dogs documents to become a service animal. My question is, do I have to accept this tenant with a potentially dangerous breed? If so, I'm I allowed to ask for documentation proving the potential tenants dog is indeed a service animal? Or should I let the individual apply and try and find something else that disqualify him tenancy in my property? 

Thank you for any feed back 

Read up on service versus emotional support animal-(ESA). This animal is probably a pet they are going to turn into an emotional support animal. If they become an ESA by getting a doctor to write them a note you will need to accept without extra charge. So if you really dont want them the cleanest thing is to tell them to let you know when the pet becomes an ESA and process some other applications. Also check with your insurance company, if they wont cover you may have an undue hardship and can refuse based on that if the insurance company excludes coverage on this breed.

A pit bull?

No way no how

Email your insurance company tell them you have a potential tenant with a pitbull will they allow it?

Then you will have your way out of renting to him if you want it