Tenants want to stay after purchase

6 Replies

Hi,

I just bought my first investment property in Boise, ID! The house is currently occupied by tenants who want to stay in the house until they find their own house to purchase (they were supposed to move out June 30th, but asked if they could stay until they found a house). They are paying slightly under market rent rate. That said, I'd like to raise the rent by $25-$50 per month and put them on a 12 month lease with the condition that if they found their home, they can move out once we find a replacement tenant (and we would focus on securing a new tenant ASAP).

I would love some insight from this group as I am new to this and want to do the right thing!  

That sounds fair but I personally would give them 2 options. Maybe extend for 1 month through July so they can find a home or they sign a 12 month lease at the new rent rate. I would hesitate to give them the option of canceling the lease if they find a home. Make them decide now. Chances are they’ll leave you with an empty unit in the winter when it’s harder to fill. Just my advice.

I would not do what you are thinking. If you want to keep them put them on a month to month lease and if they do not move out by the fall I would give them the proper notice that you are not renewing to get them out. You do not want to be stuck with a vacancy in winter because it will be harder to find a new tenant. If they buy a house in the winter you could be in a difficult situation.

I suspect if you pressure them into a 12 month lease they will just break it once the buy a house and then you will have to chase them in court to try to recoup your owed money for the remainder of the lease.

The condition to cancel (if they found a house) is not really enforceable.  Situations change all the time, they may move because they found a new job at a different location.  That shouldn't matter to you.