Why Would You Do A Month To Month Lease?

48 Replies

Hey everyone!

My wife and I are very young (both 21) and we have our first baby due in October. To make a long story short: I am wanting to get a headstart on real estate investing. As of now, I am really thinking it is what I want to pursue as my career. I'm REALLY new to all of this and I am just now starting to learn the basics. One common piece of advice I hear on the BP podcast, forums, articles, etc. has to do with "house hacking." So far, it all seems like a great idea. I was looking at a duplex on Zillow and the description mentioned that the tenant living in one of the units was on a month to month lease. My question is why would you (the investor) have someone on a month to month lease rather than a 6 month/1 year lease? Wouldn't signing them on a longer-term lease help avoid vacancies and then having a unit that produces zero income? Is there any advantage to the investor to have tenants on a month to month lease?

I apologize if this question has been asked a ton. I looked around for an answer and I didn't find anything that really answered my question. Thank you all in advance. Any and all advice means a ton to me!

-Zach

@Zach Simpson It depends on the investor and their comfort level. Have known others to have month-to-month leases just because they want peace of mind if anything goes wrong they can file for eviction the next month. Others have done it because that's the way they've always done it. I've also known other landlords to have verbal leases. Everyone has a different way of doing things. Don't assume someone's a bad tenant just because they're on a month-to-month lease. There are explanations for everything. And you just have to handle it on a case-by-case basis. Hope that helps!