Question on vacancy reserves

3 Replies

Hi, 

Newbie here. I have a quick question regarding "vacancy reserves". Im having a bit of a hard time wrapping my head around this, but I think its very simple and Im over thinking it. 

When calculating vacancy reserves- Do I simply tally up what the property would make if every unit was rented, and then set aside a percent of that for "vacancy reserves"? Like if the property grosses $8000 in rents and I want to factor a 10% vacancy, I would plan to set aside $800/month for that? 

If so, does that money just go into an account to help offset months where the property does not bring in $8000 in rents?

Or am I subtracting $800 from the $8000 to account for not really always having every unit rented, and then I base my whole budget off of $7200 instead? 

I guess im just confused on if the "vacancy" is actually money set aside, or just money I subtract from my gross income when making my budget to account for the possibility of not having every unit rented. 

Thanks so much!

Bob - I'll take door #2 (Price Is Right reference)

You can not put away money that you never receive otherwise if totally vacant you would be getting $8000 (in your case) by magic from someone and not have to do anything (how I wish this was possible ;).

The vacancy is not a 'reserve' but 'unrealized' income.

Oren

As a budget item, make it your % on the max gross income, yes.  Not just "gross rents".  (Think of it like any other expense.)  Don't forget to include other income if it's there, like coin op laundry, storage or garage rentals, vending machines,  if you have 50% vacant units your coin op laundry income will be 50% too.

Here's what I do.