Property Investment in Pittsburgh, PA

10 Replies

Hello! This is my first post on BP and I am so glad to have found a place to ask all of my RE questions and connect with those who share a similar interest. I am fairly new to RE but have had a long time interest in purchasing property, specifically rentals. I have come across the city of Pittsburgh as a great city for investment. I truthfully have never been but will be visiting on August for a half work half play trip to check it out. I would love to hear from some Pittsburgh natives or those just familiar with the city and it's market! Thoughts on owning rentals in Pitt? What have been your experiences on RE investment in Pittsburgh and surrounding areas? 

Been to Pitt several times, but I can't provide much insight. However if you are looking for rentals, you will be very interested in what kind of rent one of your units might bring in. Check out rentometer.com for a quick temperature of the rental market in the area of your choice.

My goals is for one months gross rent to equal 2% of the purchase price for the property. Not the easiest thing to find, but depending on how utilities are paid etc. some folks have success with deals that are as little as 1%.

I'd rather see you buy a deal in Pittsburgh that cashflows $50/door with management in place, than one in San Diego that maybe breaks even and requires hours of personal management each month to make the numbers work

@David Hildebrandt I love that formula you use! that makes perfect sense and I will keep that in mind when shopping around. I will use this site to check rental prices in the areas I am looking in. Thank you for your help!