Eviction/moved out partially

13 Replies

My tenant did not pay her rent (was due June 15). I contacted her, and her car had broke down..so she bought a new one. She was also moving her dad back to Illinois from Florida. She was on the fence about moving because she wasn’t sure if she could afford it. Anyway she drug me along for 2 weeks. I served her a 5 day notice. She actually moved out and hasn’t been living there when I served it, but had a majority of her belongings there. She moved the majority of it this week, but has some clothes and trash in there. She quit responding to me, and She switched the electricity and water to her apartment. I am calling my attorney Monday to see what is next for me to do. Luckily I’ve been renting 3 properties for about 9 years and this is the first problem that couldn’t be resolved. I know I need to be more business like and less giving. So I have a few questions: 1) What would you have done or would do in my situation? 2) does she still need an eviction, because she hasn’t lived there in about 20-25 days. Our lease voids at 15 days. 3) Can you send someone to collections, or is there a court process for that? She technically is suppose to give 60 days notice of moving. Right now I can’t even show the property because there is clothes that were left and trash everywhere. 4) Do you have a time line you follow for tenants...like rent due the 1st, and what do you do if they don’t pay, and worst case scenario? 4) any other advice?

@Heather Rodden idk where you are but that probably matters in this situation. I would tell your former tenant if the stuff is still there after a certain you’re dumping it.

I had tenant move out a month before
Lease ended. Not pay rent and leave junk behind. T was moved and dumped.

At this point a formal eviction is probably useless, same with collections. You can check with locals though to be sure.