How to survive the next crash?

14 Replies

Hello, I’m New to BiggerPockets community. I have an interest in getting involved with real estate investing in the near future, specifically rental properties. I was wondering if anybody knows of any good strategies to survive another market crash? I know this may be a general question but any specifics would help. For example, how much cash flow would a property need. Worst case scenario, how low would rent get? -50%? -60%? How much down payment would be required? 30 yr or 15yr loan? Recommending to sell before a crash or riding it out? Etc. Any examples would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Mike Sz.
Originally posted by @Michael Szypulinski :
Hello,

I’m New to BiggerPockets community. I have an interest in getting involved with real estate investing in the near future, specifically rental properties. I was wondering if anybody knows of any good strategies to survive another market crash? I know this may be a general question but any specifics would help. For example, how much cash flow would a property need. Worst case scenario, how low would rent get? -50%? -60%? How much down payment would be required? 30 yr or 15yr loan? Recommending to sell before a crash or riding it out? Etc. Any examples would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Mike Sz.

how much cash flow would a property need

- Depends on you, the number has to be over your PITI + vacancies + CAPEX + repairs + other potential costs you can project

Worst case scenario, how low would rent get? -50%? -60%?

- No one can predict. Only the market can tell you. What you can control are your costs mentioned previously. That's where reserves come in play. 

How much down payment would be required?

- As little as possible. OPM is the best. 

30 yr or 15yr loan?