Advice regarding tenant

7 Replies

Good Evening fellow BP's!

This is my first time posting in a forum and I'm looking forward to your responses.

I have great tenants in a duplex, two siblings in A &B.  However, this summer I noticed the water bill increased by 50%.  This was rather unusual so I reached out to them and asked what had changed.  The informed me that they had purchased a above-ground pool.  I wasn't sure how to handle it at first, so I didn't say much.  Clearly they took that as approval.  Here we are two months later and I have started a conversation with them regarding the water bill, liability and property safety due to the pool.  

They have offered to transfer the water bill to their name for the rest of their tenancy and are willing to sign a liability waiver.  This sound too good to be true!  Am I missing anything?  Should I add anything else to the lease to ensure that they run any major changes by me first?

Thanks in advance?

Estela

@Estela H. - sounds like you have pretty good tenants who want to live there for a long time. Make sure you’re slowly increasing rent 3-5% annually.

Make a new Contract that says 1) you have option to keep or they have to remove pool at end and RE-grass. If possible add to security deposit for this
2) they pay water bill over X or they take over water bill split % of SF Ie 55% A 45% B.
3) they maintain liability insurance if anyone hurt/drowns in pool and you are named additional insured.
Remember you will be sued too if anyone drowns in the pool.