Rental accounting/bookkeeping - QuickBooks or something else?

15 Replies

Looking for suggestions for a good accounting/bookkeeping software for rental properties.  I currently own and self-manage 9 units.  I've heard many folks use quickbooks, but it isn't particularly tailored for investment properties.  I have been using my own excel spreadsheets for the last 4 years.  However, after jumping from 4 units to 9 this year, and throwing in a flip as well, I'm hoping to find something simpler and easier than 9 different spreadsheets.  Any recommendations or tips are appreciated.

@Luke Naylor I still recommend Quickbooks Online Plus. Most of the free tutorials you can find online are for general use (no specific industry) so you may not see it fit, however, QB can be customized to tailor special industries like REI. To name few features, you can connect your bank & credit card account(s) to QBO to automatically download the transactions daily, set up rules for any recurring charges, setup recurring transactions (ie invoices to tenants), sent out reminder (individual or batch), accept online payments (cc & bank) which can be tenant or landlord initiated, track multiple income sources (ie. flip, rental, wholesale), track individual properties, charge tenants for reimbursable expenses, track 1099 contractors (and e-file tax forms), and create a budget. Most of the features need to be activated and set up manually and procedures need to be in place in order for it to work properly.

There are also other software available but I can only speak of what I have experience with. And if you may decide to seek guidance, make sure to look for someone who both know the software and the industry.