Acquiring property with tenants in place

11 Replies

I am about to acquire a triplex that is fully rented until next year. I’m taking over the leases and need some advice on next steps. After closing, I’m thinking of scheduling to meet each tenant and go over their lease, their experience, and my expectations. Am I able to institute new policies such as no smoking indoors, snow removal, restrictions on pets? Or would this have to wait until the lease expires? Must we continue the leases as is, or do we create new leases, since the original ones were signed by the previous owner? Any other advice? This is my first time acquiring a property with tenants in place. Thanks in advance!

@Sheena Lee It's truly a matter of state law (or even municipal rules) around landlord-tenant...typically, the lease will remain as-is with the sale. Altering the lease may violate landlord tenant law and you end up in a bind...we've inserted addendums before, but there were not really material...it was more or a reminder on what to do to be a good tenant.

If you run into a non-payment issue, or the tenant is found to be in violation of the lease terms, the circumstances change drastically...an attorney would serve you best if that's the case.

You've waited far too long to learn your local laws. You need to download a copy of your local landlord tenant laws and familiarize yourself with them before you end up in a situation, not after.

If you did download your local laws you will most likely find that the lease transfers to you upon purchase. The lease is as legally binding to you, as it would be if your signature was on it. You cannot make any modifications without the tenant agreeing to it.