Short term rental contracts

9 Replies

Hello Investors, I was wondering if anyone has a general template for short term rental contracts.. looking to rent couple of apartments in the Illinois area for short term periods of time and planning to do directly without a site as middle man.. any comments regarding this are welcome. Thanks for your help and/or comments Andres

If those units are located within the City of Chicago or Cook County hire a pro landlord attorney located in Chicago to review whatever lease you draft. If your lease is found to be against public policy you could owe your tenant three times their deposit. That is why most landlords in that area do not collect a deposit. They do have non refundable fees however.

@Andres Duarte , have you checked the documents that BP provides as part of the pro-membership? 

As an attorney, I don't provide clients with leases because I don't draft them my self since there are so many services that you can buy these from that are area specific and 2) client's would not even want to pay me to draft one. I use the ones BP provides but I am not sure if there is a short term one in there. 

You could use a full year lease and tweak it to fit your short term needs. Just make sure you are thorough when making changes to fit your needs. You can break the rent down by a weekly rate, a lot of motels run rates that way rather than monthly. Just check with local laws to see if they have anything that could impact your lease agreement. Tenant friendly areas might require a 30 day notice of eviction regardless of length of lease etc. something to think about.