Finding tenants this time of year

40 Replies

Hi All:

I am new to Bigger Pockets. My husband and I placed a contract on a short sale (investment property) in August expecting it to take at least 6 months, but the process moved quicker than expected and we are closing next week. House needs some work (mainly cosmetic) and we are concerned about being able to find tenants this time of the year. Have you all found this to be an issue in your rentals? Home is in Prince William County, Virginia (Washington DC suburbs)near Fort Belvoir if that helps.

If you put it on the rental market beginning of November, you should be ok, although between Thanksgiving and New Year'ss lesser people are looking to make a move.

On the side note - what bank is moving this fast?

Thanks for your reply. Seller's bank is HSBC bank. I think it helped that the realtor representing the sellers kept calling the bank every other day to move the process along.

I would begin marketing the property now. There's a lot of tire kickers that plan their moves months in advance. Have you considered section 8 renting?

I'm currently building my own procedure manual for my own procedure manual for my rental business. Below, is a rough, unpolished part of the marketing and leasing procedure. Take it for what it's worth, but hopefully it will help.

1. Determine desired / likely tenant (s8, market, student, etc)
2. If s8, list vacant home on housing authority's list, which is distributed only to section 8 eligible prospects. Consider using social serve.com's free vacancy listings. The downside is the large number of calls from low income very poor credit applicants. They will waste your time.