Ontario Canada question-4plex With month to month tenants

4 Replies

I am a newbie in REI

I came across a nice 4plex that would need rehab.

In Ontario can I buy this property and right away let one tenant go at a time to rehab each unit then rent at a higher price without issues with the Act?

Other question the heat is not included in the rent (gas), I understand it’s not the ideal, should I avoid this? If no, how do you factor a fair price to split the heating cost so we don’t loose money?

Thanks for your time.

Hey @Joanne Boudreault

Congrats on getting started - I bought a 4plex about a year ago in a similar circumstance & performed some evictions, there are a lot of caveats to evicting tenants. Would have to ask a lot more Qs to determine what eviction strategy makes sense & would be legal in your case.

Feel free to DM & we can discuss further.

I would never invest in a property that does not have fully split utilities. It allows the tenants too much leverage to abuse the situation. It is very common for tenants to leave windows wide open all winter, leave power on and run water without consideration of cost. Imagine what a bad tenant can do to cost you a fortune.