Suggestions for tenant not wanting to pay the last month of rent

6 Replies

I have a tenant that wishes not to renew her lease which expires this April 30, and also she does not want to pay April rent.  She will not answer my calls, emails, or texts.  Should I place the 3-day notice to quit on her door and start the eviction process even though she is expected to move out by April 30?  Is it worth the effort?  How do I recover the April rent other then keeping her deposit?  Looking for suggestions.

@Tony Anuez

When I was a newbie landlord I was overly tolerant and ended up having to evict the same tenant twice. I lost the first case when the tenant lied to the magistrate and the second time I won the case and judgement... but in truth... I still lost.

The tenant did tremendous damage to a brand new home. I have a judgement worth a few thousand I will never collect on.

But I learned this is a business and must be run like a business and that means super levels of customer service served up with a total intolerance for serious lease violations ecspecially non payment of rent, creating a neighborhood disturbance, etc....

Don’t misunderstand, I want the tenants to enjoy the home and if that means a little extra wear and tear from kids, a garden in the yard, some extra painting when the tenant departs, my efforts to send repair teams same day or quickly for service at my expense, that’s fine... but the lease terms and conditions for payment and local and state law compliance are the lease terms and conditions and they should be adhered to consistently, by all parties.

The tenant that does not want to pay leaves you no option for damage relief....don’t even think about it.

Best of luck.

I agree, put the notice on the door and start the process. If you do not and she decides not to leave on the 30th you have to start it then and lose a full month.