Freaked out, applicant says will sue

70 Replies

Hi! First time I’ve had an applicant threaten to sue. We said we could overlook credit with good landlord references, last landlord had documented that they owe a balance from withholding rent, so we denied. Tenant disclosed this on their application, however when we had talked in person prior to submitting the app they said good references wouldn’t be a problem I know I’m legally within my rights to deny for this reason, but can they sue anyway? I live in Washington, a tenant friendly state.

Really, anyone can sue for whatever they want to. Unfortunately, the lawsuit being filed doesn’t depend on whether or not you’re legally correct. 

If you’re within your legal rights, the suit will probably be in your favor, but there are still fees involved in going to court. 

This may be only a threat to try to push your hand. I’m not giving legal advice (I’m not a lawyer and don’t claim to be). If you’re truly concerned they may sue, it might be good to contact your real estate lawyer to see how they suggest you proceed in dealing with the situation.

@Rachel Luoto Hi Rachel, I agree with Kelli Gaul. This sounds like them trying to bully you into a lease and I can't see you losing a lawsuit(Though I'm not your attorney). That said, for the future, you can completely avoid this type of situation again with an asset protection structure which makes it near impossible for people to file frivolous lawsuit like this against you. 

@Rachel Luoto you’re DEFINITELY within your rights but have written documentation for the rejection and make sure there’s nothing in that rejection note that can be considered discriminatory in any way. There are good templates online or use landlord software that will give you safe language to use and document.

If they had a problem paying their previous landlord I doubt they have money to sue you.  This is why you have written guidelines and stick to them.  Don't loose any sleep over it.