New property eviction question / advice

7 Replies

Hello Everyone,

My wife and I are purchasing our first investment property (4-plex) that has a few minor repairs that are needed. However, due to us not having great funds to start out we need to do a 3.5% FHA loan and live in a unit. The current tenants are all month to month so this should pose no issue.

Upon walkthrough of the units there are two tenants that in my eyes must go due to the current living conditions they put themselves in (spliced an extension cord to install a chandelier above the kitchen sink draping it over the kitchen blinds). 

I'm new to this and have always been known as a big Teddy Bear. Any advice on how to thicken my skin for evictions? Books to read, podcasts to follow, words to say to the tenants to lessen the blow?

Keep in mind the situation above is just one item wrong with what the tenant is doing. I know I need to "Man Up" and deal with it but besides that.

Ps not asking for a friend. :)

Originally posted by @James Kirby :

Hello Everyone,

My wife and I are purchasing our first investment property (4-plex) that has a few minor repairs that are needed. However, due to us not having great funds to start out we need to do a 3.5% FHA loan and live in a unit. The current tenants are all month to month so this should pose no issue.

Upon walkthrough of the units there are two tenants that in my eyes must go due to the current living conditions they put themselves in (spliced an extension cord to install a chandelier above the kitchen sink draping it over the kitchen blinds). 

I'm new to this and have always been known as a big Teddy Bear. Any advice on how to thicken my skin for evictions? Books to read, podcasts to follow, words to say to the tenants to lessen the blow?

Keep in mind the situation above is just one item wrong with what the tenant is doing. I know I need to "Man Up" and deal with it but besides that.

Ps not asking for a friend. :)