I am very skeptical about renting to an individual

41 Replies

Hello all,

So I wanted to have an open discussion of my current situation. I have multifamily unit and I am currently looking for a tenant. I have the price at a reasonable price and I came across this one female who has great income and job history. I am currently waiting for her POR so I can just ask a few questions from her previous landlord. My issue is that it is a 1 bedroom and she wants to move in with 3 kids under 7. I just want to hear some suggestions and opinions and options. I am very new to real estate investing so hearing what I should do would be great 

Thanks   

Tread carefully and consult an attorney if necessary. you probably can't refuse her just because she has kids and could get in trouble and I'm not experienced enough myself to tell you how to say no in a way that doesn't get you in trouble.  I do believe it's as simple as "No" with no explanation but again, as soon as you start to talk about how she has kids.. it could become a situation where she feels discriminated against for having kids.

Unless it's a big place square foot wise. I probably wouldn't rent to FOUR people with one bedroom.

@RJ Reynolds thank you so much for your comment and I haven’t said anything about kids she was checking out the unit and mentioned it. The unit is very small and for 4 people especially the small children I’m not sure it will be enough room. Thanks again

Promotion
Apartments.com
List, Screen, Lease, Get Paid, Manage.
No Better Place to Lease Your Place
Owners rely on the #1 rental site to get the best results from their rental properties.
Get Started Now

You should have a hard and firm rule about occupancy.  My parent always used no more than 2 people (note, people not kids) per room occupancy.  They only were in non-compliance with the rule when they rented to the maximum occupancy and the renters got preggers and added another kid.  That situation you can not avoid.