Finding your Buy and Hold Market of Choice

5 Replies

As a newbie, I am using multiple resources to gauge where the best markets for buy and hold are right now. Specifically looking at where turn Key investors are working, reading a ton of forums; Money and Kiplinger's magazine publish several articles a year that I digest about best cities to live in, retire in etc.  and offer great insight into housing prices, average local income, growth and more. I am looking at the properties in the marketplace, trying to discover trends or hotbeds. I have looked at various deals using the calculators;  there is probably a winner in every county so I'd really like to find 'my region' before microanalyzing every last detail and property.  This has been my process thus far. 

My question is two fold: 1) any unique or unexpected tips on finding that one market you want to become an expert in and 2) when do you know you are ready to start sending offers? 

Thanks again, the dialog and insight from seasoned investors is invaluable!

@Valerie K. you can be successful or totally fail in the same market. There is a lot that depends on the team you're working with. If you find an area that interests you I'd look into teams that have a had a lot of success and start narrowing your decision by team. So you've got a great team and OKC and a great team in IN, who has had more success? Who's reviews are better. Who can provide you with more information on past deals and connect you to recent clients. That's what would make my final decision. You can get great deals in a lot of markets, but your team makes or breaks you!