How to vet a property manager

11 Replies

Hey guys newbie here trying to gather as much info as possible for future investing. So my question is how do you vet out a property manager for a rental property? How do you decipher if they’re a good property manager and how do you know if they’ll scam you. My uncle has some rental property in Orlando, Florida and he was telling me so real horror stories. From the pool running low on water for over a week, to them renting his property and keeping the money for themselves and about everything in between. Also not an isolated incident, he was telling me that he went through 7 different companies before deciding to just manage it himself from a distance and just visiting Florida(from New York) here and there to check in.

Hey Steve,

It might help you to think about what you want in a property manager.  For me, I really need someone who will keep me in the loop at all times, given that I live in a different state.  I also need someone who would be willing to help me once I find a deal. A good PM can tell you what you might get for rent, and whether the neighborhood is "rentable". 

I have found the best way to find a PM is through people that I know.  Do you know folks in your area that you trust?  Even if they don't own property, they might know someone in the biz.  Another thing to do is get yourself a list of questions you might ask several PMs once you get suggestions.   A good place to start is right here at Bigger Pockets.  Here is a link

https://www.biggerpockets.com/blog/20-questions-to-ask-a-prospective-property-manager

There are plenty of other links out there as well.  Remember, it takes time to find a good PM, and it's good to stay in touch with other PMs that you interviewed.  You never know when you might need to reach out to them.  Hope this helps!

@Oren Pfeffermann