Informed of Service Animal in Unit Shared by College student

32 Replies

Help!

I self manage a few properties, one of which is a house that I rent out to multiple college students by room. I just received this email from a tenant: 

"I just wanted to inform you that I got a service animal and that she’ll be joining me in the room."
 -Brandon

I know this is a hot topic/issue, but this is my first time encountering it. I realize FHA will require that I accommodate this request should he provide doctors note, etc. I'm worried, however, about allergies of other tenants as well as potential damage. What have you done about this issue? I appreciate any help!

There are some loopholes that get you out.

I don't remember the exact details, but if you only own a limited number of properties, or the dog is a nuisance, be it allergies or aggression, you can get rid of the animal.

And Mike is correct, look into your state laws. You might not be required to accommodate him. It’s so annoying that they don’t ask you about it beforehand. 

Originally posted by @Jennifer J. :

I would clarify with the tenant if it’s a service animal or an emotional support animal. They are handled differently. 

That is not correct. An esa is a service animal under the Fair Housing Act.

@Matt Hendrickson

You can ask for the proper documentation to confirm they have a service animal.  If you read the guidelines, there is very little distinction between a service animal and an emotional support animal.  Training is the real distinction. Service animal two years to train.  I agree with@Russell Brazil this is regulated by the feds(ADA).

Be careful.

Originally posted by @Matt Hendrickson :

Thanks for all advice. Super helpful. I get confused, which rules? ADA or FHA? I'm getting confused on differentiating between the two.

FHA is what is applicable to residential housing. The ADA is not...that as applicable to public accommodations...things like restaurants, hotels, etc.