Lath and Plaster repair costs

25 Replies

Hi everyone,

I am in the middle of renovating a 1600 square foot rowhome so that I can start renting it out. Having been built in 1890, the walls are all lath and plaster. The house has been vacant for a few years and in that time has suffered some water damage from a leaky roof (we have a brand new roof on it now). The end result is that the vast majority of the walls/ceilings are falling apart and some even have mold underneath. 

Recently, I got a quote from a contractor who is willing to take care of all of the walls and ceilings for approximately $7000. This will include removing the mold, fixing the lath and plaster, and repainting all of the surfaces. He would be fixing up the entire home minus the basement. To those who have experience with older homes like this, does that sound like a fair price? I am new to renovations and do not know what price would make sense for a job of this size. 

Sounds like what you need is to demo the plaster and lathe and then install, finish and paint sheetrock. With the wrecking and new work, not sure if that price is good or not. It's based on how many square feet of area they're going to refurb. I could see it costing that much though.

Definitely get a detailed estimate so you know exactly what they're going to do. Also, there's most likely lead paint on the plaster. Not sure what that means to you, just putting it out there.

I would suggest asking him to itemize the scope of his work.  How much for demolition, how much for the lath repair, and how much for the brown coat, and how much for the finish coat, and how much for painting.  That's assuming he will be doing real plaster repairs, which is not the same as throwing on some sheet rock mud...if he did that it will crack. Also what kind of lath?  Metal lath or rock lath?

Real plaster work is a dying art.  It's really difficult to find someone who can do it well.