Votes
Kelsey Haldiman
  • Phoenix, AZ
Votes |
Rental Paperwork - What I need?

Kelsey Haldiman
  • Phoenix, AZ
Posted Aug 21 2019, 07:33

We decided not to go through a property management for our SF rental. Where am I able to get reasonably priced or free rental agreement and application paperwork.

What are the typical deposit, pet fee and non-refundable fees. We will be renting the house out at $1800/month. I was thinking 1st and last months rent up front. Background check fee, $250 non refundable fee and a non refundable $250 pet fee. $4100 just seems like a lot for a renter to bring to the table.

Also, any recommendations on background check websites?

User Stats

Votes
Replied Aug 21 2019, 08:39

Hi @Kelsey Haldiman, I am a Property Manager located in the Worcester County area. There is a site called MassLanlords.net very helpful for landlords and it provides Leases, notices, applications, tenant and Lanlords rights etc. All depends which county you are in where the laws changes, but there should be a site where all this information can be provided for your county area. 

If you may have any questions, I am open to help. Best of Luck!

User Stats

Votes
Jon A.
  • Asheville, NC
Votes |
  • Asheville, NC
Replied Aug 21 2019, 08:41

Google your states landlord tenant laws to determine how much you can legally charge for a deposit. It is not the same in every state. Look at your local fb marketplace and craigslist to determine pet fees and/or pet deposits. I charge a fee as it is non refundable but any damage the pet does comes out of the deposit. I use cozy for tenant applications and rent collection. Listing the state you live in on your profile may get a more informed response. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Jason D.
  • Rental Property Investor
  • St. Petersburg, Fl
Votes |