About to buy a house and tenants have not paid rent to old owners

7 Replies

I'm closing on a house in a couple weeks and it is currently occupied with renters who have not paid for months. The current owner will not evict them. After I sign on the house what can I do? Do I have to give them time to see if they will start paying me? Can I evict immediately? Not sure what to do, I'm new to this with my first house closed on this May.

@Josh Fralish   It may be too late to amend the contract, but you should have stated that the house must be vacant upon possession.  At this point, the current owner probably doesn't care as they are passing the problem on to you.   Make sure you get the deposit from the landlord and a copy of the lease.  You also want to tour the property immediately before closing-same day if possible to view the condition of the property.  Somewhere in your purchase contract it should state that the house must be in the same condition as it was when it was viewed on XXX date (ie when you toured the house with the realtor).  If it isn't, don't be afraid to have your lawyer hold money in escrow to cover damages.

Start eviction proceedings immediately after closing.  Pay an eviction attorney to do it for you.  Give the tenants documentation telling them who to pay and that it is due on the 1st of the month and make sure you have a signed copy of the lease.   As soon as they are 5 days late...start with the eviction and don't listen to any excuses that they have.

@Theresa Harris thanks! It's a sticky situation though. The owner is giving me a really good deal on th house but it's her family that has been living in it as a renter. I'm not even sure if she has told them that she is selling it yet. I have been by a few times but nobody has been home. From the outside it looks like a good deal. But.... idk