How many days to evict in your state? PA is 38!!!!!

6 Replies

I took a quick look at the proposed texts. While I understand the idea behind, it seems like it will fail in execution. The main difference I see is that it requires the magistrate and the constable to move quicker. That's fine, but what are you going to do when they don't? Sue the magistrate and constable? 

Disclaimer: While I’m an attorney licensed to practice in PA, I’m not your attorney. What I wrote above does not create an attorney/client relationship between us. I wrote the above for informational purposes. Do not rely on it for legal advice. Always consult with your attorney before you rely on the above information.

I'm not sure I understand what you all are talking about, lol.  Are there rules in place where you all live that eviction hearings or the eviction process on the part of the court are required to happen within X number of days?

I don't think there is anything like that where I live.  I've only had a handful of evictions.  My longest one took 4 weeks, plus an extra week for the constable visit when the tenant still didn't move out on the eviction day/time set by the court.  My shortest one took 11 days!

As an aside, the shorter one is in an area that is kind of a weird set-up.  It's technically Orleans Parish (county).  But the particular area (west of the MS River) where that property is, has it's own courthouse and eviction **cough, better, cough** court than the main City Hall eviction court.