Dead animal smell - is tenant or landlord responsible?

16 Replies

Tenant notified of a bad smell, like dead animal. Who is responsible for discovering what's causing it & fixing the situation? If it's the landlord's responsibility, who do I call? Thanks in advance for responses!

It's the landlord's responsibility, unfortunately. And, it's quite common in structures that are elevated (not continuous foundation/slab) where animals die underneath the property. There are "critter control" companies who do this as well as national pest/rodent control companies. I wish I could tell you that I have no knowledge/experience with this issue but actually I have encountered it numerous, numerous times. Ugh!

@Marlen Rum it depends on the situation. My lease holds the Tenant responsible for ordinary pet control and that would include a dead mouse under the stove. If the tenant is unwilling/unable to find it, you can go over and try to help or just wait a few days and the smell will go away.

Originally posted by @Mark Fries :

@Sam Leon

I dont know.... I get a dead animal removal request every month it seems but after 5 days the smell just goes away...mother nature takes its course...

Seriously, every month?! Wow

Do the tenants get upset, or complain that the place is uninhabitable?

I would walk the property from the interior. See from where in the property is the smell coming. Is it a wall or vent and then call like critter control. 

Thanks everyone for your input. I ended up calling a pest control company, since the house is currently listed for sale and the tenant has been cooperative (she has 1 month left on the lease).  They said there seems to be something that died between floors (1st floor ceiling & 2nd floor). They recommended to not tear up the ceiling and just let it run it’s course. They ran an air cleaning machine and will do it again tomorrow. They’re charging me $150. Does that sound right?