How to Create Criteria for Buy and Hold

32 Replies

Hey Team,

I am brand new to Real Estate Investing, and I've come to the conclusion I want to be in this for the long haul. I'm constantly listening to the Bigger Pockets podcast, and one of the things that I see that is often highlighted is making sure you have set purchasing criteria. I have read quite a few real estate books, and have about 21K saved up and am ready to purchase my first rental property using the BRRRR method. The market I'm looking to work in is Atlanta GA and surrounding areas as that's where I live. I'm trying to get some insight on what would be some solid criteria to give my agent to start getting properties sent my way. Does anyone have any insight on this?

We developed our own, in-house model where we enter in basic variables such as ARV, rehab cost, hold time, etc that then calculates our maximum "strike price" on a buy. It might take a few deals to get it down cold, but once you do it is a huge help in determining what to buy and not to buy. Definitely start to build a model and stick to it. The only times we've ever gotten burned is when we stepped outside of those criteria that we have built into the model. Good Luck!

Originally posted by @Brandon Drayton :

@Joe Villeneuve I've set a goal of having 8k/mo from rental properties. I'm looking to start with SFH to learn the process and get some hands on experience with the BRRRR method. Is there a REI Business plan template that you're familiar with?

OK.  Work your way backwards (reverse engineer) from that $8k/month passive income goal, treating each step backwards as a prerequisite for the next step forward from it, until you get to where you are now.  Then turn around, and follow the breadcrumbs.  It's just like setting a goal of a college degree, and each class you take, in order, is a prerequisite for the next class. 

@Brandon Drayton