Should I always get landlord insurance on every house?

14 Replies

Is it a straight yes, we should always have landlord insurance, or there is another basis depending on the equity/geographics/law that makes a landlord choose whether to have it and reduce their cash flow or leave it and accept a high risk?

Absolutely! Even if you are able to self insure for the replacement cost of the dwelling you should always remember that your liability exposure is limitless so for the liability reason alone you should always insure and have enough liability coverage on the policy and an umbrella policy to be safe. 

I'm an insurance agent in Oregon. @Doug Sah is exactly correct--you may be comfortable with the risk of loss to property, but one liability claim could wipe you out permanently.

NY is a bit far for me to have any specific agent recommendations, but I would look for an "independent agent" -- that's someone who can write policies for several different insurance companies. He or she can find the right fit based on your specific property risks and liability needs.

Please define "landlord insurance"?

Are you talking about standard "homeowner" type insurance to cover fire damage etc? This would also include liability up to a point....

Or are you talking about some specific form that cover loss of rent, excessive tenant damage etc?

You need to have insurance on all your properties to cover the "standard" type stuff and I highly recommend a large umbrella policy to be heavily covered on liability..

Most do not recommend those "landlord" specific insurance policies that cover lost rent, and excessive damages....

Originally posted by @Corey DeLee :

@Frank Procopio Do you have and recommendations on companies to go with for landlord insurance in Syracuse? 

Corey I will email you Paige's number with liberty mutual