Best State for rental income?

44 Replies

Hi All, I'm a local realtor here in San Diego and I'm finally at the point where I want to invest in real estate, but not here in San Diego as the prices are too high. I'm looking into Ohio as I know you can get properties there pretty cheap. I'm curious whose investing in these cheaper markets and also if you're doing Air BNB or have long term tenants in place. I would be looking to put down 20% as it would be an investment property. Any feedback on good growing markets for rentals/Air BNBs would be much appreciated!

Hello Steve,

I am down in Pensacola Florida where there are still affordable properties.  My focus is multifamily.    My investment properties are in SC and Escondido CA.  I do not own any investment property in FL at the time but I will be walking a 50 unit complex in the morning.  If this is an area that you are interested in, let me know.

Thanks Shelon, I think what I'm ideally looking for is a house that's pretty cheap $60-$100K that's in a good area where I can Air BNB or place long term tenants.  a 50 unit complex is a little too steep for me at this stage.  Would be interested in learning about the Pensacola FL market though.

Originally posted by @Steve Meyers :

Thanks Shelon, I think what I'm ideally looking for is a house that's pretty cheap $60-$100K that's in a good area where I can Air BNB or place long term tenants.  a 50 unit complex is a little too steep for me at this stage.  Would be interested in learning about the Pensacola FL market though.

I'm cash flowing about $700 per month on average on my turnkeys in Phoenix. I was offered an AirBnb near the stadium downtown but I declined since I don't know that investing model. It still may be available though.

I would imagine houses are more than $100K in Phoenix

It was $60k to buy in and take over an existing mortgage of $164,000 PITI payment of $801 and I have it rented out for $1650