tenants vs landlord vs mortgage companies

13 Replies

I'm new to Bigger Pockets and I only own one property so im sure I won't get a lot of attention but even one reply would be appreciated. I'f we have tenants who either lost their jobs or just flat out refuse to pay rent during these times should us landlords continue to pay our mortgage on time? what assistance should we be seeking to keep from digging ourselves in a deeper financial hole?

Thanks for reading, Zack 

@Zack Williams if you can, it is a good idea to continue to pay your mortgage, only go into forbearance if you have to. Because the bank has a lot more recourse against you for nonpayment (in the form of foreclosure) than you do against your tenant (eviction and maybe a judgement, all of which costs about what you might get back)

Your mortgage is contract between you and the loan holder .You dont pay , you lose the house and trash your credit . The fact the tenant isnt paying is between you and the tenant . Its called investing , there is risk . But as a smart landlord you have 6 months of reserves to cover situations like this , so you are fine .

@Zack Williams

Always pay your mortgage. The forbearance is going to destroy some investors and homeowners in two ways. First it's all due in 90 days. In three months you have all payments due. If my mortgage is $1000 in three months it's 3000 plus the next month. I'm not sure this helps anyone. The other part is if you take the forbearance it will be noted on your credit report. Even though it will not impact your score the lenders will see it and I've heard will not lend in the future for 2-4 years. My guess is this will be on a lender by lender basis.

At least reach out to your mortgage provider and talk to them. It doesn’t cost anything to ask. Find out when the forbearance will be due (and if it can be pushed to the end of the mortgage).