Help with the 1% Rule

6 Replies

I'm a newbie to rental real estate investing and I'm doing my research and education. I've read and listened to some books and podcasts, but I'm sorry I'm a little confused about the 1% rule. As I understand it, if the rent comes out to 1% or more of the purchase price, that is a short cut to assume it will be a profitable rental. I realize it's only a short cut and that all expenses should be calculated. I just want to be sure its the purchase price and not the loan amount that I'm to use in the equation. Meaning if the property is $100k and I put down $20k, the 1% is based off the $100k and not the $80k. When does this rule not apply? I am considering property in CA where if I bought a $500k, 3bd/2ba home, there is no way I'm getting $5,000/month. I might make a slight + cash flow, but I'm looking down the line to 5-10 years from now when this property appreciates, because of community improvements, and I sell it. Any input is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Hi Summer,

I think I'll make a video to answer your question too but here's the quick scoop:

1.) Yes the 1% is the VALUE of the property not what you paid, so on a $100k house if it was a 1% it would be $1,000 a month rent.

2.) 1% houses are usually only going to be in the 100k-250k range because like you said you'll not likely find a 300k house that NORMALLY rents for 3k let alone a 500k house that rents for 1%.

3.) There are also 2% houses I do a lot of deals with them they are usually in the Midwest and ONLY in certain places like in Indy around the State Fairgrounds you can look on Zillow and see what I mean you'll see 30k houses renting for $600/mo the price is usually 30k-40k because you won't find many 50k houses renting for $1k but you WILL find 40k houses renting for 800/mo.

Usually your expenses will be half the cash flow, so if you get $1,000 a month it will cost for the first 3-5 years about $500 in various repairs, BS with tenants, etc.