Using professional photos for rental property

20 Replies

Is it a good idea to use a professional photographer and if so do you think $175 for a 1200 sqft townhome is a good price? Thanks for the help.

In my opinion it is not worth the cost, as long as you don't take terrible pictures yourself, even people who are looking for the differences between pro and amateur photos can't tell.  How do I know?  Because I ran a test, with multiple pro photographers and multiple amateurs (renovation people).

@Dimitri Paspalaris

I take my own photos for my rentals.  I think the quality of them is acceptable.  Even though I’m not a professional photographer they look fine.  Save your money.  With that being said if you take horrible pictures hire a professional.  It will impact renters.

IMO you do not need to do that. We manage over 100 doors and not one is a professional photo. Hell, some we don't even have photos because they're in a different area and the people renting the houses are not browsing the internet. The modern day smart phone is a very good camera.

If you're selling your house? Sure, get professional shots.

Hi @Dimitri Paspalaris personally I wouldn't hire a professional photographer, or videographer for virtual tours. I don't want to minimize the importance of the photos or videos, as they are extremely important alongside a well written property listing, but the technology you should have available (phone, camera, etc.) should be more than sufficient. Just be sure to take your time and get high quality photos/videos.

@Dimitri Paspalaris

I’ll hire a pro after renovations are complete. It’s a little cheaper, 100, probably because I’m an agent. He does matter port tours. Very high quality. Then I keep the photos forever and reuse. It’s a one time expense.

I take my own photos and videos with a cell phone. It's a newer phone with a wide-angle lens but it does almost as well as my $500 DSLR with a $400 lens and it fits in my pocket.