Convince Me Why Buying All Cash Is Beneficial

98 Replies

Hey Guys,

The name of the game has always been leverage for me. Building wealth can absolutely be accomplished by using credit, OPM, etc.

Every now and then, I come across that investor who buys his properties all cash and I can’t help but ask, WHY!?

I’m an investor-friendly agent in NYC so some clients tell me they prefer not to have the interest as an extra expense, some clients prefer the instant equity, some clients prefer the easy liquidation, etc.

Why do YOU prefer buying all cash? Im looking more for subjective reasoning why you prefer all cash because I’m sure people in different circumstances have different reasonings.

I’ll always be a leverage guy but I would love to hear why cash is king to your investing careers. Thanks in advance for any responses!

@Francois G. First I must say I completely agree that using leverage is a great way to build wealth over time, especially given the interest rates we have seen this year. Money is fairly cheap to borrow.

But, I work with many clients that pay all cash for investment properties. There are multiple reasons and it comes down to your individual goals. In the competitive market of the Bay Area, cash offers have a big advantage when buying properties that get multiple offers. Not having the loan and appraisal contingency helps an offer look more attractive. Also, some investors pay cash because the increase in cash-flow from having no loan benefits their day-to-day life... granted you could also borrow from the equity in the properties if needed.