small multi family in california vs your state

16 Replies

I have been looking and analyzing duplexes and triplexes in northern california for close to a year using the parameters I learned from Biggerpockets. I have found none that met the "good buy" parameters, and only a couple that still had a cash flow after deducting the recommended percentages for the costs. My question is how are the other states doing? 

My plan was to make my first purchase a duplex so I can start off my portfolio, but at this rate, I may have to buy a single family home.  I get that I'm new at this and don't have an in on the off market buys, but....this is very disheartening. 

I'm not an expert on every state, but I am fairly confident California has to be one of the worst places to invest for cash flow. I am sure there are people that will fight me on this, but I'll put Texas MF against anywhere for cashflow!

Welcome to California, the land of no cash flow. It does suck, but it's not just you--it's the reality of California. I'm impressed you found a couple that cash flow. Remember though too, it gets worse--even if you find at least minimal positive cash flow, you're also in one of the most tenant-friendly states in the country, which means one bad tenant-- that cash flow is gone. A lot of California investors, myself included, buy out-of-state for these reasons. You'd be hard-pressed to find another state that does worse than California for cash flow. A lot of other states don't cash flow either, but plenty do. If you buy the single-family home, what would your plan for a profit be? Would that be a primary residence for you or something you rent out rooms or something?

Originally posted by @Jason Hirko :

I'm not an expert on every state, but I am fairly confident California has to be one of the worst places to invest for cash flow. I am sure there are people that will fight me on this, but I'll put Texas MF against anywhere for cashflow!