Burst water main advice

18 Replies

We have a duplex with two great tenants. 2 weeks ago both sides flooded due to broken water main in front yard. Of course it was my side of the meter so we paid about $2k to replace the entire run. Now the affected tenant has received a water bill for $527.00. Water company is refusing to adjust the bill and my tenant is asking what we’re going to do. Normal bill is about $70.00. Has anyone dealt with this before? I don’t think the tenant needs to foot the bill but man it sucks to spent another $500 since we also recently spent $3500 on an HVAC! 

@Phil Laundy . I’m a plumber here in Colorado and our water works will give a customer one get out of jail free card for main water line breaks. You might call the water company yourself and see if you can see if they can do anything at all. If not I agree with you paying the water bill maybe minus the tenants normal monthly cost.

@Phil Laundy

I know what that’s like.  I feel for you.  I agree with @Travis Gulley it's your water bill as the owner. Contact the water department and see if you can get some relief. Most departments will give you a break or at least allow you to pay over time (payment plan) maybe 3-6 months or longer; no interest tacked on.

You should pay it.

We got hit with a much higher bill & the city would NOT help at all. In fact they charged us $1200 for an emergency middle of the night shutoff & then $1500 to hook the completely NEW run to the city  main because they had to dig up the road. They insisted in a complete new run because their old lines were Lead (Pb) & had to be replaced on the owners dime. I guess property taxes paid since 1830 were not enough to cover it. We have since put utility insurance on all our properties.