Rentals Specifically for Felons

2 Replies

I am a REI newbie and have grand ideas for my future empire (I know I am years away from something substantial) But I am interested in a FUTURE side project that probably has a lot of problems. A family member of mine is a convicted felon (served her time and is clean) and has a really hard time finding somewhere to live. She is considering trying to start a property management company that allows felons to rent if they can show they have been clean for a year/other requirements.

Eventually I think I would like to be able to help and own some properties her company could manage. I realize business with family members can be...rough...  Would setting up a non profit be a direction to go? Does anyone know of any government grants that could help with this? Is this a crazy idea all together? 

Thank you in advance for your thoughts!

I have an attorney friend (primarily a defense attorney) who is also heavily involved in REI. This concept isn't something he's done yet, but it is something he's talked about. Unfortunately, I don't know any specific details. But he is a master at leveraging government programs and grants for his real estate ventures. I would swear he's mentioned something like that, but I think it was more related to halfway houses.

FWIW, he's smart, well educated, and very accomplished.  And he doesn't think it's a crazy idea.