What is the end date for a 90 days notice?

9 Replies

I am planning to give my tenant a 90 days notice that I won't be renewing the month to month lease. If I give today, does that mean it's exactly 90 days later the tenant has to move out or the first day of the following month?

I am not a property manager but in my state I give sixty days notice. I give the notice on a day that co-insides with their lease end date, so If their lease ends June 30, I give notice On or before April 30, and state that their move out date will be June 30, if that makes sense. Im not sure exactly what is required in your state

Hi Adam,

Generally, with month to month leases the termination notice would be 30 days from the date the tenant received the termination notice. If your agreement with your tenant is 90 days, then it should be 90 days from receipt of the notice. It is usually easier to provide notice on the 1st of the month to be easier for the tenant to move out and find another apartment but it does not necessarily have to be the 1st of the month. 

A word of caution to the general statement above, NY and even the City may likely have some specific tenant friendly provisions which you may need to be aware of when providing the termination notice. Also, there may be certain protections on the time the tenant has to vacate the property. I live in Massachusetts where there are similar "tenant friendly" legal protections for different situations. None of this is legal advice, but just my experience. 

Legal dates that is the start of any notice is the first of every month and that starts the clock. For example: if you’re serving in the 15th it does not come into effect until the first for a full 30 day notice period. 

It depends how you word it (assuming your state law doesn't say otherwise.) 90 days from tomorrow is 2/19/2021. 

So you could send a notice that says "This is your 90 day notice that you must vacate the property before Midnight on 2/19/2021."