Section 8 how does it work? What are the things to be aware of ?

11 Replies

I just closed on my first property which is a duplex that I am going to live in the top unit and rent the bottom unit. I have a potential tenant that is on disability and gets housing credits through the HUD. I'm completely new to this and I don't have people just lining up for my listing. So I want to accept her but I have some concerns. Everything check out on background and credit report. She pays on time and has no evictions.

@Brian Bertschi

I've had a few section 8 tenants. I find them to be not much different then non section 8 tenants. You still need to screen properly. You can reject a tenant if they don't meet your criteria. Your unit can only be approved once a voucher tenant wants to rent your unit. You cannot apply for approval without a qualified section 8 tenant. You are subject to paperwork, an inspection and they will review your lease. The timing can be frustrating to get your unit approved. Takes probably 30 days or so.

Kenneth Garrett

@Kenneth Garrett Thanks for your input. She said with Covid they have expedited the process a little but waiting a whole month to a tenant in could be frustrating. Once they are approved for your unit after inspections and everything, does the money come to me like an electronic payment in whatever account I set up?

@Brian Bertschi

Once everything is setup, payments from the Housing Authority are direct deposited the first of every month.  If the tenant is responsible for a portion, which is typically the case you’ll need to collect from them as well.

@Brian Bertschi

I’ve had 2 section tenants. One who was evicted within 5 months. The other I still have and have had for over 2 years.

What I wish I knew going in is they have been slightly more difficult than normal tenants in these areas.

(This is my experience)

The reason I’ve found it most difficult is adding the 3rd person to the mix (Uncle Sam).