Help! I own an investment property with my family and we disagree

17 Replies

As a property manager I have customers who own investment properties with family members but they don't see eye to eye with that family member when it comes to the investment property.  I'm sure we have all heard stories and have personal experiences of owning businesses and investment properties with family members, I know I've learned my lessons.  I would like to give my customers some ideas and direction on where to start and some options they may have with how to address this situation and eventually solve it without causing too much family strife.

Thoughts?

The disagreements are related to the normal stuff.  How to handle or who to hire for outdoor/indoor maintenance, property management, whether to keep or sell the property, should we buy another property?  The family situations have been mostly one or both parents and their kids.  I would describe it as the normal disagreements found in many businesses and discussions between investment partners.  Given that does this require a family business/real estate lawyer?  Are there people that specialize in this area?