Worth keeping the property or unloading?

7 Replies

Hello Team,

Newbie here! Asking a basic question and need advice if I should keep the townhome or sell it( If anyone can give any formulas that I should consider please let me know)

The current value of the townhome as per Zillow is 690K(bought it for 540K)

Current loan balance=404K , interest rate = 2.99% , term=15 years, taxes per year=7K, HOA fees = 155/month

Location - metro area, good school district, parks, and trails around.

The townhomes in the area are renting for $2500-$2800

I am planning to purchase a single-family home that is around 1.8M. Now, Is it worth keeping the townhome with all the above fees considering I will be paying all those fees for the single-family house also?

Thanks for your help!

Sell as soon as possible.  This isn't a rental property.  By my quick calculations, including the mortgage payments, you would be looking at about $1200/month negative cash flow.

You have almost $300k in equity trapped, to be released in your custody once sold.

There's no question this is a sale.

@Sirisha Kusuma Where you are the purchase to rent multiple is not in your favor if you want cash flow. I would learn to underwrite--attend a podcast, youtube, whatever and consider investing OOS. In my view it is not worth keeping the townhome the return does not offset the risk.

Sell or use a HELOC. The only bonus on keeping it is the appreciation. I imagine in a few years it'll go up another 100-200K(just speculation). 200K+ would be plenty to invest. You could potentially have around 1M in property with a COC conservatively of 6-8% you'd be set. Did you owner occupy this town home?

Hello @Sirisha Kusuma and welcome to BP forums!

At a quick glance, it doesn't seem the rental income would cover mortgage and expenses for the townhouse.