Loan Preapproval for a College Student with No Income

7 Replies

I'm a college student about to graduate, and I'm looking to buy a multifamily property rental or house hack. 

I'd like to get preapproved for a loan, but at the moment I have no job or stable income. I've got a mid 5 figure stock and bond investment portfolio, but I don't know if I should bother getting a hard credit pull for preapproval since lenders care more about income than savings.

Should I still go forward with the preapproval process or should I just try to get a job with stable income and help other investors wholesale while I gather enough funds?

Talk to a lender (or several) to see what your options are. You are correct that they care about income, not what's in your account. I have a friend that was a rental investor for nearly 40 years. He sold all his rentals, had almost $1 million in the bank, and he couldn't get a loan because he no longer had the rent income. It's ridiculous, but that's how it works.

You could investigate purchasing for cash and then refinancing later to get your cash out, but even then it probably has to meet certain criteria.

@Jakob Claret income, credit score, DTI ratio, total assets/downpayment are all factors that a lender will dissect when determining if you qualify for a loan approval. Yes, majority of the underwriting is based on income, but one potential way around this caveat is by having a mortageg co-signer. In your case, the co-signer will be added to the mortgage and their income and credit score will be used as security against the loan.

If you're fortunate to have this option, I would speak to as many lenders as possible to determine the best financing avenue for you and your potential co-signer. Don't screw over your co-signer, as they will be just as reliable if a payment is missed haha 

Originally posted by @Jakob Claret :

I'm a college student about to graduate, and I'm looking to buy a multifamily property rental or house hack.