Votes
Kevin Lefeuvre#3 Coronavirus Conversation Contributor
  • Los Angeles, CA
Votes |
Need insurance for STR/VR? Read this...

Kevin Lefeuvre#3 Coronavirus Conversation Contributor
  • Los Angeles, CA
Posted Oct 20 2017, 21:00

Like everyone here, in the past couple years I was anxious about my insurance coverage. I studied a few policies very recently and changed my provider. This post is to share my findings, and may help you in your assessment.

First let me share some general lessons (even though most of you already know): There are traditionally 2 categories of policies: Home owner (owner occupied) and Rental (LTR tenant occupied). Needless to say STR is new and almost no insurance provider has the perfect policy clearly covering the risks. STR has several characteristics that the traditional policies don't cover:

• Sometimes you live in there, sometimes a paid guest (a short term tenant) and sometimes it's vacant for a while.
  • Tenants change often and they are new to the place, increasing both risks of damage and accident to themselves.
  • Landlord runs an ACTIVE BUSINESS when running a STR (commercial policy covering loss of business among other stuff).

Another aspect to consider is the workers' comp. When you have a regular maid, a regular gardener or even a regular handyman, who are not independent contractors, licensed and insured, in case of accident, they "may" come after you based on the "regularity" of their employment. You may argue that you never "employed" them, but still you are at risk. Moreover in some states like California, offering workers' comp to employees is mandatory (even to part time employees). So if a judge requalifies your maid as a permanente part time employee, you are screwed.

Keeping the above in mind here's some policies I checked and my findings:

1) The famous $1M coverage by Airbnb and VRBO