Creative financing for STR?

14 Replies

Hey all! I have a relatively unique financial position and am interested in sourcing financing for my next STR - I'd love your input/experiences with different possibilities.

Thumbnail of my situation: I'm a professional in the film/television industry, which by its nature consists of short- to medium-term employment. I recently finished working on a TV show, and am now unemployed until I get my next gig (which I'm not in a big hurry to do, since full-time employment means 70-80 hours/week). I rent my residence and have one mortgage on an investment property (STR), and I have a good amount of cash on hand.

I want to dive into my next STR investment, but given that I don't currently have W2 income, I don't believe I'll qualify for a conventional loan. My current STR grosses between $3-4k/mo, and for the time being unemployment will yield $1800/mo. I have excellent credit and my debt-to-income ratio is currently acceptable; when I'm employed it's excellent.

Any thoughts on how I could secure low-interest financing for my next STR? I'm looking at homes with established histories as profitable STRs, with a purchase price between $200-250k. Are there good financing options for me or should I just wait until I'm employed again before I purchase, and get a good ol' conforming loan? Thanks in advance for your input!

Conventional loans will be very tough without a W2. Not impossible, but my wife and I spent 6 months getting our primary residence refinanced because she was self-employed as a Realtor. Any change in employment and they ask for tax returns and documenation like you are on the "operating table". It was brutal, for me anyway.

Do you have any equity you can pull out of your investment property? You need assets as collateral, its nice to have cash, but the lender wants to feel secure about loaning out 200-250, as you well know.