What AirBnB instant book guest requirements do you have?

12 Replies

Wondering what you guys use!

I've had some bad experiences early on with people who do not have AirBnB reviews, and it kind of turned me off. Do you guys filter with recommendations from hosts? Also government issued ID?

From your experience, are they actually useful or not to get an indication of how easy to deal with a potential guest?

It is important to disconnect from the property itself. I manage a ton of properties here in Tampa for other owners. If they only knew the kinds of things we've cleaned up or fixed they would be devastated. The point here is, expect things to go wrong. Be prepared for when they do. Emotionally detach from the property. It's just a big game of money coming in and money going out.

For the first month I set my listings to Instant Book anyone with a valid ID. After that we slowly start to tighten up restrictions once we get reviews and traction. 

@Andrew Wong  

For some people, they disconnect from a property by hiring a property manager to do all of the guest interaction. They only watch their bank statements and lose that sense of emotional connection. 

For others, they just don't allow themselves to get beat up over tiny guest interactions because they only see it as a business.

True story:

Just yesterday, I woke up to a guest wanting a refund for the last day of her stay because of issues not even pertaining to my listing. I gave her a refund for that day, my housekeeping crew turned the property and at 3PM I had gotten an Instant Booking from a new guest. I still ended up making the same commission on the nightly rental plus I was able to get a second cleaning fee. Oh and the guest that checked out early... gave me an INCREDIBLE review. Had I gone back and forth with her and poisoned the relationship, I likely wouldn't have ended up on top like I did.