Airdna Regulation Score Meaning

7 Replies

I am new to the Airdna site. I am analyzing a zip code in Jacksonville. I really don't understand what the "regulation" grade means. Why would this be so low and the other grades be so high?

I'm in Tampa and we aren't very good in that category either... As an experiment, on Jacksonville (without selecting a zip code) scroll down to the bottom of the overview tab and see what it says under "Professional Hosts". Here in Tampa, a lot of our homes are owned by investors with multiple properties and they have been traditionally renting them long term. More and more are switching to STR to increase their profits every day. We are just over half under this category. What does Jacksonville look like? Great comparison considering we have the same state laws.

Multi Listing ~ 61%

Single Listing ~39%

A little more disparity up here. 

Hmm... This looks like investors have flooded that market since the last time I looked at the numbers. What are the numbers for year over year growth in rentals?

I would reach out to Airdna to find out. I'm not familiar with Jacksonville, but are the local municipalities / State laws favorable for STR's?

The laws for STRs here in Jax are the same as in Tampa. Leases are 7 or 12 month. Airbnb is very popular and local govt has done nothing to clamp down on STRs. In fact, thanks to Hurricane Irma, the STREET market is booming as people who’s houses got flooded, have needed a place while their primary is getting fixed. I have many friends with an STR. Not for me, i’d rather have a 12 month rental.