Smart Locks Recommendations

19 Replies

I was wondering if you guys have any recommendations on smart locks. I'm looking to change the locks, and I am interested in a keyless entry lock where the guests enters in the access code to get in the house and for me to have the capability to unlock/lock from my phone remotely if need be. Do you have any brand recommendations? Have you had any problems with these smart locks? Things you like or don't like about the lock you have? I know they all run on batteries so how often do you have to change the batteries? 

Thanks for your help!

I have no experience with smart locks, but you could check on Amazon for them. I've seen some as cheap as around $100 and as expensive as $300. Schlage typically makes good locks.

we love the Kwikset 909 deadbolts.

http://amzn.to/2zeNl6f

we use them on every door on all 3 properties we own. they are very sturdy, batteries last forever. i don't recommend the lever handles w/ the codes, they have broken on me several times. Deadbolts are where it's at. good luck!

And to add one more, we use August smart lock ( and nest thermostat) in our out of state house and kwikset in our primary.  read reviews then maybe look in person at Costco or Lowe’s to help you decide.

We use the schlage camelot locks.  I have them on two houses.  I would recommend pairing it with a wink hub.  I have one wink and one samsung and the wink app is much more user friendly.  

Thanks for the recs everyone! I will look into them.

@Glen Whipkins For the wink hub, can you use the app to remote change the access code? And will the app notify you the batteries on the lock are low and needs changing? Also, with the app-can I set the lock to lock after a default time, say if it wasn't locked after 10-15 mins, can I set the app to just lock it? I'm a little worried in case guests forget to lock the doors.