Florida Vacation Rental

19 Replies

I'm looking to possibly getting into the vacation rental business by purchasing a condo or home reasonably priced, in Florida as a income property only. I'm new to this and don't really know much about it, can anyone provide some insight? I would like something near or on the water. I was looking at hotel condos because the have Management that takes care of everything. Being out of state (Michigan) I couldn't really be there if an issue arises that needed attention. Looking for someone that could help walk me through learning about everything and providing a turnkey investment for me, help find the perfect property, as well as a lender for vacation investment home loans and an excellent property manager.

These same questions get asked on here several times a week.  Read the posts from the last 7 days and you will find all the answers to your questions.

Ben,

We are looking for the same thing! I'm learning the vacation rental curve as well. We are focusing on Tampa, Ft. Myers or Naples area (we can take direct flights to those areas from Iowa). Let's connect and share with each other what we learn as we enter this new world! We have rentals in Iowa, but the vacation rental world is a new market for me...excited to enter!

@Ben Mackenzie do not by any means use the hotel-condo management. Their fees are almost double than the standard vacation rental manager and provide no additional service that a local or national mgmt company can't do.

@Tiffany Ralston - Depending on the area in Tampa there are vacation rental restrictions (Pinellas County, for example, does not allow less than 30 days rentals) Many ignore the rule because no from the city is really enforcing it but if you have a grumpy neighbor then you can be fined. In general Clearwater beach is by far the best out of the two but Fort Myers is a really great area.