Finger Lakes NY vacation rental

9 Replies

Hi, I am investing in the Buffalo area and I am looking at a waterfront properties in the finger lakes. Has anyone invested in vacation homes in this area? 

I need to better understand the numbers (how many weeks a year can it be rented / seasonality / taxes / cashflow / management fees...). 

I am looking at properties 3+ bed 2+ bath with access to the water in the $300-$400k range. Canusus or Canandaigua lakes. From what I see it can be rented between $250 and $400 a night depending on the season and taxes are around $10k. I was hoping to be able to rent 20-25 weeks a year and I am not sure if it's a reasonable assumption. 

Thank you!

How much is a decent motel per night in your area?

Double check the taxes. In many non-recreational areas the property taxes in Western NY are 4-5% of assessed values. Recreational property taxes are higher than non.

Hi, I'm new to BP and do not have any investments yet. But I've lived in the fingerlakes region most of my life. I;m looking for a smaller/less expensive properties near tourist areas. Prices along all of the lakes have been really rising over the past decade. I would think that it would be easy to rent for June, July, and August. These lake houses/cottages usually rent by the week. Other than those months, it would likely be harder, but I've seen on airbnb plenty of reviews for properties throughout the year. It seems that your best luck is the season when the wineries are in full swing with tours... There's more winery business around Seneca and Cayuga lake all the time. Not really sure about Canesus/Canandaigua. 

I hope that's at least a little helpful